Changes in top roles at National Park Authority

This is an archived press release

Thursday 7 July 2005

7 July 2005

Changes in top roles at National Park Authority

The Peak District National Park Authority has fresh faces in some of its top roles following a re-shuffle in the wake of county council elections.

The elections meant several long-serving county council representatives on the Authority had to step down when they relinquished their council seats, including Sir Martin Doughty and John Bull.

Tony Hams OBE, who was elected un-opposed as chair for a third term, said: "It is a great honour to have the confidence of members for another year. We have an important year before us, with major challenges, including the impacts of new single farm payments for farmers, new arrangements for managing tourism in regional policy, continued pressure from minerals cases, the relentless increase in traffic and the provision of services and affordable housing for local people. Finding solutions to these requires top quality analysis, willingness to experiment, partnership working and taking a long term view."

Tony Hams has been on the Authority since 1998, lives in Tideswell and currently chairs ANPA, the Association of National Park Authorities.

The new deputy chair of the Authority is Clr Hilda Gaddum, who also chairs Macclesfield Borough Council planning committee.

Clr Gaddum, who has been on the Authority since 1999, lives in Sutton, where she is a Red Cross-nominated trustee of the Lyme Green Settlement for Paraplegics and takes a special interest in access to National Park facilities for disabled people.

Clr Gaddum is married with three sons and is a long-standing member of Macclesfield WI – she helped set up the town's WI market some 27 years ago, giving her an interest in local produce.

She said: "I am fascinated by the work of the National Park Authority and hope I can make a worthwhile contribution for the future well-being of this special area."

The Authority's new chair of Audit and Performance is Peter Harrison, a Chapel-en-le-Frith parish councillor and former director of housing and planning at High Peak Borough Council.

His vice-chair is Clr Tracy Critchlow, from Wheston, near Tideswell, a Derbyshire Dales District councillor and village agent, who is also chair of the High Peak Conservative Association.

And the new vice-chair of planning is Clr Barbara Wilson, from Buxton, a Derbyshire County and High Peak Borough councillor, and student counsellor, who has been involved in regeneration projects in Buxton and Chapel.

The Authority has also welcomed new Derbyshire County Council representatives:
Clr Raymond Caswell, from Ashbourne; Clr Irene Ratcliffe, from Wirksworth; Clr Kenneth Stevenson, from Bakestone Moor, and Clr Roger Wilkinson, from Glossop South.

The new Cheshire County Council member is Clr Sylvia Roberts, from Bollington and Disley, and the new Staffordshire County Council representative is Clr James Muir, from Burton-on-Trent.

Anyone who wishes can attend or participate in Authority meetings, making their points directly to members. The aim is to open up the democratic process and make people more actively involved in decision making. Details of all committee meetings may be found on the website

Anyone who would like to ask a question, make a statement or hand in a petition must make a request at least two working days before the meeting. They will then be invited to address the Authority members for up to three minutes and may be asked questions.

This is an archived press release

Share this page