National Park Authority selects leaders

This is an archived press release

Tuesday 29 June 2010

29 June 2010

National Park Authority selects leaders

The Peak District National Park Authority has re-elected Narendra Bajaria CBE as its chair for the fourth successive year at its annual meeting (June 25).

The Authority also elected a new deputy chair, High Peak Borough Councillor Tony Favell, who has lived in the national park for 40 years, in Edale.

Cllr Favell was born in Sheffield and is a former MP for Stockport. “With my background in all these places I understand the value of the national park to people who visit, live or work here,” he said. “The conservation of this beautiful place is the most important thing to me, and I am full of admiration for the farmers and residents who look after its wonderful landscape, buildings and traditions.”

Cllr Favell is a retired solicitor who practised in Hathersage, and recently retired as a tribunal judge dealing with criminal injury compensation and mental health issues. He is president of the Stockport branch of Mencap.

He said it was a privilege to serve as deputy to the immensely-experienced Mr Bajaria, who also chairs the English National Park Authorities Association. Mr Bajaria, a Secretary of State appointee from Sheffield, comes to the end of his Authority tenure next March. He promised a seamless transition to a new chair who will have to be elected before the next annual meeting in June 2011.

The Authority also elected new committee leaders:

  • Chair of planning is John Herbert, a parish representative from Sheldon. Vice-chair is Cllr Trevor Bagshaw, of Sheffield City Council.
  • Chair of services is Christopher Pennell, of Sheffield. Vice-chair is Cllr Gill Heath, from Staffordshire County Council.
  • Chair of audit and performance is Derbyshire County councillor Garry Purdy. Vice-chair is Patricia Coleman OBE, a parish representative from Youlgrave.

Mr Bajaria paid tribute to Members who had left the Authority: former services committee chair Cllr Andrew Marchington, who had to step down due to his council commitments in Kirklees, and former Oldham Council representative Cllr Colin McLaren. He welcomed new Oldham representative Cllr Barbara Beeley.

Mr Bajaria also thanked Cllr Trevor Bagshaw, his former deputy chair, who now has increased commitments on Sheffield Council, and Cllr Hilda Gaddum, the former planning chair, who now has increased commitments on Cheshire East Council.

This is an archived press release

Share this page