Green fields highlighted by sunrays through heavy clouds from Curbar Edge

Peak District Habitats

Peak District millstones on hillside near Stanage

The Peak District comprises some large areas of semi-natural habitats such as upland heathland and blanket bog, together with some fragmented priority habitats such as lowland meadows and calaminarian grasslands. These can be grouped into types – moorland, woodland, grassland, wetland, other.  

It is difficult to give accurate figures for the exact amount of each habitat that can be found in the Peak District. The best we can do is provide informed estimates based on a variety of surveys carried out by ourselves and partners since the 1990s. We are constantly striving to improve and update our data.

To find out more about each habitat click on the habitat name below.

Moorland Habitats

Woodland Habitats

Grassland Habitats

Wetland Habitats

Other Habitats

Share this page