Planning Awards 2020


Planning Awards 2020 logoThe 2020 Peak District National Park Planning Awards will celebrate the best development in the National Park. The Awards will recognise and reward outstanding development which has been substantially completed since May 2016. There are five Award categories, and we invite nominations for schemes where extra consideration has been taken to ensure a positive contribution to the special qualities of the National Park.

If you are submitting a nomination for the Awards, please adhere to the Government guidance regarding Covid-19 and do not make any unnecessary journeys to the nomination site, for example to take photographs.  Nominations can be submitted until 5pm on Friday 11 September.

The winning scheme in each category will receive an award crafted from Derbyshire Fossil Limestone a truly unique Peak District product, provided by Natural Stone Sales Ltd.  The Awards ceremony is kindly being hosted by Thornbridge Hall.

Award Categories

Nominations for awards are being invited in the following categories:

A. Best Residential conversion or new build

B. Best Residential extension

C. Best Non-residential

Agricultural, commercial, quarries, public buildings

D. Best Conservation project

Any development relating to a heritage asset

E. Best contribution to the National Park Landscape

Landscape scheme relating to any other development, including quarry restoration and infrastructure projects.

Judging Criteria

Each category will be assessed against the following criteria:

  • The design quality of the scheme in terms of its overall vision, innovation, integrity and detail
  • The form of the development, including scale, massing and height
  • Appearance (in terms of details and materials)
  • Contribution to local distinctiveness and landscape setting
  • Quality of craftsmanship and execution
  • Sustainability of the development
  • How the development is contributing to the special qualities of the Peak District National Park

In all cases, projects will need to reflect the general principles of good design which are set out in the Peak District National Park Authority Design Guide (6MB)

Guidelines for Entry

  1. Nominations are open from 18 May to 5pm on Friday 11 September 2020.
  2. The nominated scheme must be located within the National Park boundary.
  3. The nominated scheme must have been substantially completed since May 2016.
  4. Nominations must be accompanied by a completed entry form.
  5. Entries can be submitted by anyone who considers the scheme suitable for an award, including owners, architects, designers, developers, Parish Councils, Community Groups or any member of the public.  In all cases the consent of the owner must be obtained prior to making the nomination.
  6. A scheme can only be entered into one category.
  7. Schemes submitted for the 2018 Awards cannot be resubmitted.
  8. Entries cannot be accepted from PDNPA officers, Members or a member of their immediate family, or for buildings in their ownership.
  9. Entries will be assessed by a judging panel consisting of representatives of the design profession.
  10. If the judging panel considers there to be no nominations of the required standard of excellence for the category, no award will be made.
  11. The judging panel’s decision will be final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Submitting your nomination

All nominations must be submitted via the online form

The following additional material should be submitted along with the form.

  • A site location plan for the nominated development
  • Any additional supporting written information in no more than 2 sides of A4
  • Good quality, high resolution before and after images/photographs in Jpeg format. No more than 20 photographs per nomination. These should be numbered and supported by captions to describe what is being shown and when the image was taken.
  • Existing and proposed drawings
  • Any other supporting information

The materials submitted, including photographs may be used by the Peak District National Park Authority to publicise the Award Scheme.

The Awards aim to both celebrate exceptional schemes that have been developed and inspire excellence in future projects in the National Park.

If you have any questions please email or call 01629 316328.

Share this page