Green fields highlighted by sunrays through heavy clouds from Curbar Edge

Learn about the Peak District

Peak District map

We are the Peak District National Park Authority and our purpose is to:

  1. conserve and enhance the natural beauty, wildlife and cultural heritage of the Peak District
  2. promote opportunities for the understanding and enjoyment of the Peak District's special qualities

We must also foster the economic and social well-being of the local communities.

We are responsible for looking after a designated area of land, the Peak District National Park, which is 555 square miles (1,438 square kilometres) in size, and covers parts of the counties of Derbyshire, Yorkshire, Staffordshire, and Cheshire.

As a National Park Authority, we are working towards sustainable development of the Peak District. This means a commitment to improving the quality of people's lives without using up natural resources that cannot be replaced. The countryside is one such resources as it cannot be replaced if destroyed.

On this page you can learn more about:

You may also be interested in:

Share this page