Green fields highlighted by sunrays through heavy clouds from Curbar Edge

FAQs - Who owns the land in the Peak District National Park?

Although the National Park designation applies to all land within the Peak District's recognised boundary (some 555 square miles), actual land ownership itself sits mostly with private individuals or organisations.

The Peak District National Park Authority owns just over 4% of the land within the National Park, with a large proportion of this comprised of our Warslow and Stanage-North Lees estates.

Further areas are as follows (please be aware figures are approximate):

  • The National Trust: 11%
  • Additional charitable organisations (e.g. Wildlife Trust, RSPB): 0.5
  • Forestry Commission: 1.2%
  • Ministry of Defence: 0.3%
  • Water companies: 11.5
  • County Councils: 0.1%
  • District/City Councils: 2.1%

Please note the National Park Authority is unable to provide data on private land ownership due to data protection regulations. If you require this type of information please contact the Land Registry. Detailed information on our own landholdings may be not be made available where related to private, residential tenants.

We are not able to provide a map of land ownerships for the Peak District National Park.

Share this page