Green fields highlighted by sunrays through heavy clouds from Curbar Edge

Conservation areas

innovative building in the Peak District

There are 109 conservation areas in the Peak District National Park. These areas are of special architectural or historic interest that it is desirable to preserve or enhance for future generations.

Special rules apply to conservation areas. Planning officers take an area's special character into account when considering a planning application.

Demolition of buildings

Planning permission is required for the demolition of most buildings in a conservation area. This extends to walls and other features. Planning officers will look at whether the loss of the building and any redevelopment proposals would serve the interests of preserving or enhancing the character or appearance of the conservation area.

If approval is given, there will often be a clause or condition in the approval which requires a contract for redevelopment to be in place before the demolition is undertaken. This prevents unsightly gaps opening up in conservation areas for long periods of time.

Trees in conservation areas

Trees in conservation areas are given special protection because of their contribution to the special qualities of a conservation area. The Authority must be given six weeks' notice of the intention to carry out work on a tree. Within that period, the Authority can consider whether to make a Tree Preservation Order (TPO).

Share this page