Green fields highlighted by sunrays through heavy clouds from Curbar Edge

Planning awards 2018 - results

The Peak District National Park Planning Awards were hosted by Thornbridge Hall on 21 November 2018. The winners received beautifully crafted Derbyshire Fossil Limestone Awards kindly donated by Natural Stones Sales Ltd. The evening was a celebration of innovative design and ground-breaking architecture from across the UK’s first National Park.

The nominations were considered by the awards judging panel, with projects as varied as community and educational facilities to conservation and residential schemes. A wide range of materials, and sustainability features were showcased in the nominations, always with the National Park’s unique built heritage at the heart of design. As well as choosing the winning schemes, the judges also wanted to commend some of the schemes for the quality of design, sympathetic restorations and contribution to the special qualities of the National Park. Details of all of the nominated schemes are available on the presentation shown at the awards.

The winning schemes

Best Conservation Scheme

Mill House, Ashford in the Water, nominated by the owners Dr and Mrs Griffiths

Best Residential Scheme

Contour House, nominated by Sanei Hopkins Architects

Best Landscape Scheme

Heart of Hathersage, nominated by Hathersage Parish Council, Simon Gedye Architects and Ares Landscape Architects

Best Non-residential Scheme

Chatsworth Stickyard, nominated by Paul Holden of Peak Architects

Commended schemes

Conservation Scheme

St Michael and All Angels Church, Hathersage, nominated by Tom Crooks of Tom Crooks Architecture Ltd

Residential Scheme

Hannah Bowman Way, Youlgrave, nominated by Peak District Rural Housing Association

Spring Lane End, Youlgrave, nominated by Saffron Baker, owner

Non-residential Scheme

Bird Hide, Chatsworth Children’s Farmyard, nominated by Paul Holden of Peak Architects

Bretton Hostel Studio, Bretton, nominated by Clare Palmer, owner

2018 nominations in full

Nominated scheme


Ashford Mill, Bakewell


Mayfurlong, Grindon


Calton Houses Barns, Calton Lees


St. Michael & All Angels Church, Hathersage


The Parthenon, Calton Lees


No 1 Devonshire Square Beeley


Millstream Mews, Bakewell


Back Dane Cottage, Swythamley


The Birdhide, Childrens Farmyard, Chatsworth


The Cattleshed, Grindleford


Bretton Hostel Studio, Bretton,


Chatsworth Learning Centre, Chatsworth House

Non-residential and conservation

Chatsworth Stickyard, Chatsworth House

Non-residential and conservation

Chatsworth Stables, Chatsworth House

Non-residential and conservation

The Heart of Hathersage

Non-residential and landscape

Shiredale, Quarnford


The Old Vicarage, Hope


Eaton Drive, Baslow


Contour House


Spring Lane End, Youlgrave


Pineapple Farm, Bakewell


Hannah Bowman Way, Youlgrave


Hanging Cote, Hathersage


Tunstead House

Residential and landscaping

The Peak District National Park Planning Awards 2018, supported by:

Thornbridge logoNatural Stone logo

Share this page