Green fields highlighted by sunrays through heavy clouds from Curbar Edge

Conservation Area Appraisals

Peak District field barn in middle of several fields surrounded by dry stone walls in the Peak District

Local Authorities have a duty to review Conservation Areas from time to time. The preparation, publication and formal adoption of Conservation Area Appraisals forms part of this process.

Appraisals are being carried out, and in some instances reviewed, for each of the Peak District National Park's 109 Conservation Areas.

Historic England's Guidance on Conservation Area Appraisals forms the basis of the Authority's appraisals.

Appraisals identify the special qualities that make a place worthy of designation as a Conservation Area. They look at ways in which the character of a place can be preserved or enhanced and are intended to inform future changes, not to prevent them altogether.

Draft Conservation Area Appraisals will be available for public consultation prior to adoption by the Authority.

April 2020 update

A recent update to the software that runs this website means the consultation end dates and adoption dates below are wrong.  Please refer to the below document if you need to know the date of an adoption.

Conservation area designation dates (58kb)  PDF format

Adopted Conservation Area Appraisals

The following Conservation Area Appraisals (based on Historic England's recommended format) have been adopted by the Authority and can be viewed by following the links below:

A number of Conservation Area Appraisals, adopted by the Authority, are in an earlier format. These, and the new format appraisals, are available via the Peak District Information Portal. Simply type the name of the Conservation Area and select ‘Conservation Area’ in the ‘Record Type’ dropdown box.

These are available for the following Conservation Areas:

Abney Aldwark Alsop-en-le-Dale
Ashford in the Water Aston Bagshaw
Ballidon Bamford (village) Bamford (Lydgate)
Baslow & Bubnell Birchover Brund
Calton Calton Lees Calver
Chelmorton Chinley Combs
Curbar 1 Curbar 2 Danebridge & Wincle
Edale Edensor Elton
Fenny Bentley Flash Foolow
Forest Chapel Froggatt Great Hucklow & Grindlow
Great Longstone Grindleford (village) Grindleford (station)
Grindon Hartington Hassop
Hollinsclough Holme Hope
Kettleshulme Little Hayfield Little Hucklow
Little Longstone Litton Mill Lyme Park
Meerbrook Middleton by Youlgreave Milldale
Milldale (Lode Mill) Millers Dale Onecote
Over Haddon Peak Forest & Old Dam Pilsley
Priestcliffe Rainow Rowarth
Sheen Sheldon Slackhall & Ford Hall
Sparrowpit Stanton in Peak Stanton Lees
Taddington Thornbridge Hall Thornhill
Thorpe Tintwistle Tissington
Upper Elkstone Upper Hulme Wardlow
Warslow Wash Waterfall
Wensley Wetton Wheston
Wigginstall Wormhill & Hargatewall

Share this page